The Four Agreements by Don Miguel Ruiz

“The Four Agreements: A Practical Guide to Personal Freedom” is a book by Don Miguel Ruiz that presents a code of conduct to live by to achieve personal freedom and true happiness. Based on ancient Toltec wisdom and teachings, the book suggests that much of the suffering we experience in life is self-inflicted, but we can transform our lives by adopting new ways of thinking and behaving with love and not fear.

The concept of “love not fear” refers to the idea that we should strive to act out of love and compassion, rather than fear and negativity. This means choosing love over fear in our thoughts, words, and actions, and working to cultivate a mindset of love and positivity in our daily lives. This can involve practices such as forgiveness, empathy, and gratitude, and can lead to a more fulfilling and meaningful life.

The Four Agreements are a set of principles to follow to respond with “Love not Fear”. 

The Four Agreements are:

  1. Be impeccable with your word. 
  2. Don’t take things personally.
  3. Don’t make assumptions.
  4. Always do your best.

The concept of “love not fear” refers to the idea that love is a more powerful and positive emotion than fear, and that it is important to choose love over fear in our thoughts, actions, and relationships. This means focusing on love, compassion, understanding, and forgiveness, rather than fear, anger, judgment, and resentment. By choosing love, we can create more positive and harmonious relationships and experiences in our lives. In other words: living by The Four Agreements as a code of conduct applied to every way you respond is a key for empowering oneself to be free from negative thoughts and emotions and to act out of love and compassion, which is in essence true happiness. 

The Four Agreements explained: 

  1. Be impeccable with your word. This means being careful about the words you use and speaking with integrity, honesty, and kindness and avoiding using hurtful or harmful language.
  1. Don’t take anything personally. This means not taking things that other people say or do personally, and instead understanding that their actions and words are a reflection of their own reality, not yours.
  1. Don’t make assumptions. This means communicating clearly and openly with others and not jumping to conclusions or making assumptions about intentions without having all of the facts.
  1. Always do your best. This means always making an effort to do the best you can in all situations, regardless of your circumstances.

Written by the Mexican author and spiritual teacher Don Miguel Ruiz in 1997,  “The Four Agreements” has since become a bestseller, selling millions of copies worldwide and has been translated into numerous languages. Born in Mexico and trained as a medical doctor before turning to spiritual studies and traditional indigenous healing practices, Ruiz has written several other books on spiritual and personal development, including “The Mastery of Love,” “The Voice of Knowledge,” and “The Fifth Agreement.” His work has been widely influential and embraced by people from a variety of spiritual and cultural backgrounds.

author avatar
Anja Jeftovic